SFI Transmission shield rules

-

Vitamin c

Vitamin c
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Who can simplify the rules for shields and/or blankets in regards to flexplates flywheels and transmissions? Will a blanket get you through tech? I have a B&M SFI flex plate, ATI converter in front of a manual valve body 727. I was told that the blanket will not pass tech for flywheel protection. The flywheel being refered to as the starter ring gear welded to the converter.

Some of the rules depend on your et. I've been racing since 1976 and rules change alot . I don't have my rule book in front of me, but a transblanket is good to a certain et and then you also need a flexplate shield. Flywheel is for a 4-speed car.

Some of the rules depend on your et. I've been racing since 1976 and rules change alot . I don't have my rule book in front of me, but a transblanket is good to a certain et and then you also need a flexplate shield. Flywheel is for a 4-speed car.
sorry, flywheel was the wrong word to use. Im refering to the "ring gear" welded to the converter. rules are interpreted a hundred different ways, and i want to double check before i decide what method to use. A&A sells a long and a short blanket, you would assume that the long would cover the the flexplate/ ring gear. but they were the ones that told me i would still need to use a ring gear flex plate shield. So why would you spend the extra money for the long blanket?

sorry, flywheel was the wrong word to use. Im refering to the "ring gear" welded to the converter. rules are interpreted a hundred different ways, and i want to double check before i decide what method to use. A&A sells a long and a short blanket, you would assume that the long would cover the the flexplate/ ring gear. but they were the ones that told me i would still need to use a ring gear flex plate shield. So why would you spend the extra money for the long blanket?