slant 6 exhaust sound

-

340 8BBL

Reaction score
im off to the muffler shop tomorrow to get new exhaust on my wifes valiant.i fabricated a split manifold with dual 1.75 outlets .the headpipes will run about to the tail shaft of the tranny and then Y into a single pipe all the way to the back.there will also be a commando style resonator added built form a polished 304 ss steel pack and an exhaust tip grafted together.......however im torn on the what to use for the primary muffler.i have a 40 series flowmaster on the shelf as well as an imco turbo muffler.any suggestions or sound clips if you have them would help.thanks.

I like the Magnaflow round stainless straight through mufflers. The Flowmasters are too loud for my taste. But that's me, you might like them, plus you mention you're running a resonator. To me, there's always a little power advantage with a straight through muffler. Also, the stainless mufflers from Magnaflow are ALL stainless. Even the stuffin in um.

thanks for the input rob.if i had the magnaflow on the shelf id very much consider using it.however i had the parts to construct the resonator on the shelf,and id like to use one of the mufflers i got already.

I run an original 40 sereies Flowmaster,through a set of Clifford headers on my /6.
Sounds like a pissed off pack of bumble bees coming at you.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pTrcjWtk0w0&feature=fvw"]YouTube - 1973 Plymouth Duster Slant 6 Flowmaster 40 Series Dual[/ame]

enjoy

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PmrpoPXC05Q&feature=related"]YouTube - Slant 6 Barracuda "Performance Test"[/ame]

also sounds nice using super 40

i gave you a few videos of what you can expect from a 40
yes you did, thanks,but the sound in both is not the greatest.the first video is of a dual system,and the second ...its hard to tell.but id guess its got duals as well as an upgraded cam.