Step by step total timing instructions

-

65valiantwin

Reaction score
Hi guys, im relatively new to this stuff and need some help. I helped my dad build a 360 stroker (408) before he passed away suddenly last year. He was the brains of the op and i need some help!

Im running 10:1 compression, rev n nator distributor/box, eddy 650 carb, 484 camshaft. Ive never set the timing on any vehicle and im on my own so i need in depth, step by step instructions on how to set total. Ive got it idling pretty good but just did that by sound. When i drive it, the engine starts bogging/backfiring around 2500 rpms, im thinking its bc i i don't have proper total timing as there are no duel delivery issues (6psi getting to carb)

Thanks all for help!

Have you run a compression test? DO that first and post up the numbers. We can come a LOT closer if you do. Otherwise our "guesses" will be WAY off.

Hi guys, im relatively new to this stuff and need some help. I helped my dad build a 360 stroker (408) before he passed away suddenly last year. He was the brains of the op and i need some help!

Im running 10:1 compression, rev n nator distributor/box, eddy 650 carb, 484 camshaft. Ive never set the timing on any vehicle and im on my own so i need in depth, step by step instructions on how to set total. Ive got it idling pretty good but just did that by sound. When i drive it, the engine starts bogging/backfiring around 2500 rpms, im thinking its bc i i don't have proper total timing as there are no duel delivery issues (6psi getting to carb)

Thanks all for help!

Here's what I want to know.
* What distributor? (Mfc, model, etc) Is the vacuum advance hooked up? and if so. to what port?
* automatic or stick ?

Some of this may change a bit for a stroker. But basically procedure for timing should be along these lines.

Set the initial or base timing.
In absence of other info, this is as a good as any for guidance.
Distributor starting point for a curve