Stock 2bbl carb with new cam?

-

BlueDream

Aspiring Mopar enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey guys, I have a Comp cam for my 318 and I need to know if it will work with my stock 2bbl carb. It's a 1968 230 horse 318 and the cam is a Comp Cams High Energy cam, it's the 268h.

http://www.jegs.com/i/COMP-Cams/249/CL20-212-2/10002/-1?parentProductId=

I will be doing a carb swap down the road for sure but I was hoping I could run it with the 2bbl for now with the new cam. I've done body work and paint but this is my first time digging into a motor. Any help would be really appreciated, thanks! :grin:

It should work.

I ran a 2 bbl carb on a 318 with a 340 cam for a while until I upgraded to a 4bbl. The 268H is pretty close to that cam.

Go for it!

With headers and Flowmaster super 10's I think it'll sound pretty good and run well. Now I just have to get rid of those highway gears and that 7 1/4 rear end...

With headers and Flowmaster super 10's I think it'll sound pretty good and run well. Now I just have to get rid of those highway gears and that 7 1/4 rear end...

Kinda funny to have a nice rumble while running a 2bbl....

If you don't open the hood, you can convince people that it is a 4bbl.... LOL!

Kinda funny to have a nice rumble while running a 2bbl....

If you don't open the hood, you can convince people that it is a 4bbl.... LOL!

I don't plan on going for all out performance, so a rumblin 2bbl would make for a decent cruiser. It just needs to be able to spin the 295's out back and turn heads :glasses7:

I knew a guy in school. He had a Chevelle. '72-ish I think it was. The whole thing looked awesome until the eyes made it to the twp bbl. carb. It was a 2300 Holley. He could smoke the crap out of the tires. The car looked and ran great. He did what your about to do. Keep the hood down and they'll never know.

A jump in gear ratio in a inexpensive 8-1/4 with a sure grip in it will do nicely.
(4.10's!:happy6:\\:D/:-\" )