Teach me about Shipping Parts!!!

-

72_Durstya

Reaction score
Hey guys I haven't had a whole lotta luck selling my parts locally and have had a few people ask if I'd ship parts. I've been reluctant to do that because of the horror stories I've heard where people either don't recive the parts or the money because of it got lost in the mail or people (sellers and bidders alike) try to rip people off by not sending the parts or the money. I also was reluctant because I have no Idea how to go about shipping anything, I've never done it before.

So if anyone with experience shipping parts or sending money for parts could help me learn the right way to do it I greatly appreciate it!

Thanks

Grant

First of all, you have to be relatively comfortable with whom you are dealing with (whether it be a buyer or a seller). If you are buying or selling on ebay, you can try to get a handle on the buyer/seller by looking at their feedback. Since the feedback rules have changed recently, some may say it may be slightly eschewed but if they have been on there long enough, you can probably get an idea.

If you are dealing with someone on a forum, you can check out how long they have been on there, how active they are and possibly see what other items they have sold/bought on there. The people that have been around for awhile and participate regularly are usually trustworthy.

As far as payments go, it is customary for the buyer to send payment first and then the seller sends the part(s) out. As a seller (and if your comfort level isn't where it should be), you can request payment be made in a certain method (ie. postal money order) and then have the buyer send it via a service where you can track/confirm it (ie. Priority Mail w/Delivery Confirmation, etc.).