To EBAY or not to EBAY?

-

jeeper

Reaction score
Hello All,

I have found this to be the friendliest of all the boards that I frequent, Ok it's a tie with one of the Jeep boards......

Anyways, here is the deal. I am a shop teacher and I have been selling parts for a few years to pay for my project cars that we build at school, including my 440 Dart Sport.

What has happened is this. I have way, way too many parts that I can't seem to sell on boards/C.list. Not very much Mopar stuff for sale, because I hoard that. I have a good pile that I am saving for future builds. I like to build cars.

Anyways, any advice on selling on ebay? I do have a PayPal account. I have never had an unsatisfactory transaction via a board.

I know better than to sell big items that are common. I just want the stuff gone at this point. We aren't talking a warehouse, but probably a fair sized back yard shed stuffed. Lots of weird stuff like Datsun parts, Toyota LandCruiser stuff, Willys and then a few Mopar parts.

Ideas? Warnings? Etc.?

What has your experience been as a seller?

At this point I am probably less driven by profit, and more driven by just seeing the stuff leave. I'm pretty used to the comunicating, packing, shipping scene.

Thanks for any input/warnings.

ROB

I think its a good way of getting rid of the stuff. I have sold and bought quite a bit from E-Bay without any problems... ( Knock on wood !! ) The biggest headache is answering the stupid questions... ( Will that Datsun tailgate fit on my Chevy Blazer ???? )

Accurately describe the part, in the narrative, list it "as is", no warranty/return, payment before shipment etc. Save all your correspondance until the transaction is complete. Good luck

My only issue with selling is shipping. Large parts get surcharges added per measurements. Hauling a package into the post office for a shipping quote them back a 2nd time to actually send it sux.