trans brake vs launch control ?

-

70wayfarer

Reaction score
not sure where to post this question. a quick run down on combo. 410 sb, S475 turbo, efi, built 727, ptc 3800 converter, 9" rear 3.5 gears 28" radial tire, weighs 3200 with me in it.
i have been driving this on the street for a few months now and is a real hand full. trans has a cope reverse pattern manual vb that shifts real hard. have taken car to two 1/8 mile street meets. first time was on street tires and a waste of time. impossible to run a straight line. second meet i ran et radials and car was much more settled and launched better.
tried launching bringing rpm up on the foot brake but started to push through the beam. too much going on trying to watch rpm, the lights, pushing on brake. car did launh better with boost built up on brake.
now my question is should i use the launch control feature in my ecu ( LINK G4+ STORM ) or go the trans brake rout. i am new to efi and boost so racers advice much appreciated.

Last edited:
not sure where to post this question. a quick run down on combo. 410 sb, S475 turbo, efi, built 727, ptc 3800 converter, 9" rear 3.5 gears 28" radial tire, weighs 3200 with me in it.
i have been driving this on the street for a few months now and is a real hand full. trans has a cope reverse pattern manual vb that shifts real hard. have taken car to two 1/8 mile street meets. first time was on street tires and a waste of time. impossible to run a straight line. second meet i ran et radials and car was much more settled and launched better.
tried launching bringing rpm up on the foot brake but started to push through the beam. too much going on trying to watch rpm, the lights, pushing on brake. car did launh better with boost built up on brake.
now my question is should i use the launch control feature in my ecu ( LINK G4+ STORM ) or go the trans brake rout. i am new to efi and boost so racers advice much appreciated.