transmission book

-

stroker_valiant

Reaction score
I'm looking to build a 904 to put behind a smallblock stroker. I have never built my own trans. Does anybody know of or want to sell me a good book to show tricks and ways to build a hardcore tranny?

I would be interested too.

I have a really good book, I forget the name of it off the top of my head and its in the car, tomorrow morning I will grab it for you and get the name of it

I have been rebuilding torqueflites for well over 25 yrs. and have yet to see a good performance orientated book specifically on the 904. There is one real good book on 727's and they are basically the same except for parts sizes. The basic function of the 2 are identical and the valve bodies are interchangeable so mod's affect each the same. It's written by Carl Munroe and here's a link to it.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/1557883998/?tag=joeychgo-20

Fishy, if I were to build a 904, and gather the cost on all parts is that a comparable price for what is being sold as perf. tranny's? I'm basically trying to justify buying a fully built unit from these guys:

http://smrtrans.tripod.com/smrtransmissionsintro/id20.html

for what I want they are saying it would be close to $1,800. Thats just a hard price tag to swallow, knowing I might be able to get it done myself, while maintaining a good build, for a fraction of the cost.

What do you think?

As long as all the hard parts in the trans are good, you shouldn't have to spend more than about $300 on a rebuild kit/shift kit.

Tony, 70AARcuda, has a link to a bunch of trans kits that he uses in his cars and most run in the 11's or better.

$1800 for a rebuilt 904 is crazy. 904 and 727's are about the easiest transmissions to rebuild.

Get the trans guide/book, buy a kit, and have a clean place to rebuild it.