truck 318 into 69 cuda

-

dtcuda

Reaction score
Hello I am new to this internet posting and I need some technical advice . I posted the project in the welcome forum. I may post it in this forum soon if I needed . I am a high school shop teacher and we are having difficulties determining how to proceed in this swap over. I have a truck engine with large rear main bearing cap that will not fit a car oil pan from a 70's fury that should fit the 69 K member . Any help is much appreciated. More info and pics are posted in the welcome forum under 318 truck engine into 69 cuda.
icon6.gif

Didn't you post earlier? I would guess the Fury pan is a 360 pan. The 360 pan has a SMALLER "half moon" in the rear, than all other SB engines.

http://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar/showthread.php?t=187677

The BLUE PAN is a 360 pan

In this photo you have them reversed end for end

We are looking at the REAR of the 318 pan on the left, and the FRONT of the 360 pan on the right

I'm not familiar with the magnums, but if the engine which originally had the blue pan mounted is a 318, then it has to be a Magnum engine, which is different than the older LA engines That is, the newer magnums, whether 360 or 318, share the same oil pan.

EDIT I re-read your other post. You BOUGHT the blue pan separate, right? SIMPLE The blue pan came off a 360, not a 318. You need a 318 pan and oil pump pickup, end of story. The Fury pan would have worked if the car had been a 318

attachment.php

67Dart273 is right the LA318 and the Magnum 318 do differ read below. The last 3 sentences especially. This was copied from a web site. It appears you'll need a pan that year engine.