What am I looking at?

-

Justin Looney

Reaction score
Hey all!

Sorry if I'm new to darts and classic cars in general, but I'm looking at buying a car that's listed as a 1975 Dodge Dart Demon which seems unlikely.

Can someone tell me what I'm actually looking at?

Thanks!

1975-Dodge-Dart-american-classics--Car-101032879-ae3d065373c20fa9932c775f57ec094b.jpg
1975-Dodge-Dart-american-classics--Car-101032879-fed74965998de9fb1f8662803797f4c6.jpg
1975-Dodge-Dart-american-classics--Car-101032879-80fa0872ce69437d9108d264e192a0ef.jpg
1975-Dodge-Dart-american-classics--Car-101032879-9f47934359b1a2fe22fb7b2417ae6bed.jpg
1975-Dodge-Dart-american-classics--Car-101032879-4fdf500bee51cf27b252f021f60721b6.jpg

Thanks!

Was it common for them to have a front bench seat and a manual transmission? Or was this altered as well?

Yes, bench seat is common, the 4-speed overdrive is probably factory however the hurst pistol grip shifter was added...but it’s a nice touch. Can you get a picture of the fender tag? That will tell you what the car was born with...if you have a picture we can decode it. This looks like a nice car though...

Looks like the original bench seat with a pistol grip shift handle added. The original shifter would be a round shaft.

Yes, bench seat is common, the 4-speed overdrive is probably factory however the hurst pistol grip shifter was added...but it’s a nice touch. Can you get a picture of the fender tag? That will tell you what the car was born with...if you have a picture we can decode it. This looks like a nice car though...
No luck with the fender tag. Still trying to contact the owner and there's no photos of it.

Also it's listed as a 3 speed.

It’s a Dodge Dart Sport you’re looking at. As others have said, the Demon became a Dodge Dart Sport on 1973 due to the name Demon being considered immoral/wrong.