what fuel pump should i get?

-

zartan

Reaction score
the car is a 68 dart with a 318, after i blow up the 318 that i have i'm going with a 400 or 440. it will be used street/strip. any ideas?

If mechanical,check out Carter street/strip pumps.Electric,over 400 hp,Holley blue with regulator.Both time tested ,and proven.If more than 550-600 h.p,check out upper end stuff like the Holley black pump.Others will,chime in.

I was just about to say it would be electric. I was looking at the holly blue. But then I noticed some of the more expensive ones and that's what got me thinking.

I have no experience with these pumps, but FABO member "Mad Dart" speaks highly of these units. He knows alot about them, and to me, they make perfect sense and can't think of a reason on why not to use these...Here is a quote from the man himself:

"Swap that POS Blue pump for a Walbro GSL-392, Way Quite and will out perform what you have easily. The Walbro is good for about 600HP and you can barely hear it running.
$100.00 Problem solved."

I've heard the Holley 12-25 is a nice quiet pump. Has anyone got one installed that can provide input on the noise level?

I have no experience with these pumps, but FABO member "Mad Dart" speaks highly of these units. He knows alot about them, and to me, they make perfect sense and can't think of a reason on why not to use these...Here is a quote from the man himself:

"Swap that POS Blue pump for a Walbro GSL-392, Way Quite and will out perform what you have easily. The Walbro is good for about 600HP and you can barely hear it running.
$100.00 Problem solved."

Yeh. And Holley is selling repackaged Walbro at a markup for their EFI systems, nearly 200 bucks