What is this and what does it do?

Electrical and Ignition

  1. Cope

    Cope Fusing with fire

    Messages:
    2,445
    Likes Received:
    1838
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca.
    Local Time:
    3:31 AM
    I'm rewiring my car (71 dart) and removing all the extra B.S..
    It's almost never driven at night but I want headlights. This box has 2 fuses in it for headlights. I thought the headlight switch had a breaker built in, so what dose this box Do?


    20180106_103930_zpsmbtq5v1f.jpg


    20180106_103937_zpsdo4zl1du.jpg

    Thanks again!
     
  2. Big_John

    Big_John In my defense, I was left unsupervised.

    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    223
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Local Time:
    4:31 AM
    That is an Echlin (NAPA) headlight relay.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Demonic

      Demonic Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      347
      Likes Received:
      154
      Joined:
      Mar 21, 2015
      Location:
      Maryland
      Local Time:
      4:31 AM
      Straight screw cover, no markings = not a Chrysler part. Someone added that. No idea, you'll have to trace the wires.
       
    • Big_John

      Big_John In my defense, I was left unsupervised.

      Messages:
      260
      Likes Received:
      223
      Joined:
      Nov 16, 2014
      Location:
      Syracuse, NY
      Local Time:
      4:31 AM
    • Cope

      Cope Fusing with fire

      Messages:
      2,445
      Likes Received:
      1838
      Joined:
      Oct 20, 2009
      Location:
      San Jose, Ca.
      Local Time:
      3:31 AM
      So can I just Chuck it in the bin or do I need it?
       
    • Dave NEO

      Dave NEO Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      812
      Likes Received:
      150
      Joined:
      Jan 6, 2017
      Location:
      midwest
      Local Time:
      2:31 AM
      try it with and w/o fuses and see what it does -are your headlights working now or not?
       
    • Big_John

      Big_John In my defense, I was left unsupervised.

      Messages:
      260
      Likes Received:
      223
      Joined:
      Nov 16, 2014
      Location:
      Syracuse, NY
      Local Time:
      4:31 AM
      Depends...

      Yea, you could "chuck it" and use the headlight switch as it was originally built.

      The other option is to wire everything with the relay in place. It looks like you have some wiring "issues" anyway. The relay is a good piece to have as it takes the load off the old headlight switch and will help you have brighter headlights. You could also replace that relay with two Tyco relays, but if that one works, I don't see why you couldn't clean it up and use it.

      Your choice.....
       
      • Agree Agree x 2
      • 67Dart273

        67Dart273 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        38,642
        Likes Received:
        6247
        Joined:
        Oct 14, 2010
        Location:
        Idaho
        Local Time:
        1:31 AM
        Using headlight relays on these girls is a great idea, but I just would not use THAT one. Looks like it's pretty bad shape. Remove the cover and look inside. Crackedback on here sells a little kit for relays.
         
        • Agree Agree x 2
        • Cope

          Cope Fusing with fire

          Messages:
          2,445
          Likes Received:
          1838
          Joined:
          Oct 20, 2009
          Location:
          San Jose, Ca.
          Local Time:
          3:31 AM
          Ok I will save it and move it to the passenger kick panel where my new fuse block is.

          Yes the headlights did work before I removed the bulk head connector.

          This is a race car so all the "extra" wire, old wire and B.S. is getting pulled out.

          Thanks again!
           
        • Cope

          Cope Fusing with fire

          Messages:
          2,445
          Likes Received:
          1838
          Joined:
          Oct 20, 2009
          Location:
          San Jose, Ca.
          Local Time:
          3:31 AM
          On second thought can I just but 2 new relays from kragen? Smaller is better for me and this uses old glass fuses that are getting harder and harder to find.

          What part number is the Tyco relay?

          Thanks again for all the time and advice.
           
        • MrJLR

          MrJLR Built, not bought FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          4,145
          Likes Received:
          2792
          Joined:
          May 14, 2015
          Location:
          Chino, California
          Local Time:
          1:31 AM
          If you'e over 20 years old, you'll be able to get the glass fuses to rest of your life. ...they're not going away anytime soon. ....

          Jeff
           
        • Dave NEO

          Dave NEO Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          812
          Likes Received:
          150
          Joined:
          Jan 6, 2017
          Location:
          midwest
          Local Time:
          2:31 AM
          Did they put a minimum age requirement on the glass fuses? Never saw that coming! ..well whatever it takes to maintain supply for 68 year olds is good thing. I love those little suckers..'specially when you're pry 'em out and they bust in the middle and shoot glass at your eyeballs..
           
          • Agree Agree x 1
          • Big_John

            Big_John In my defense, I was left unsupervised.

            Messages:
            260
            Likes Received:
            223
            Joined:
            Nov 16, 2014
            Location:
            Syracuse, NY
            Local Time:
            4:31 AM
            IMHO, the relay you have is very simple to mount and wire. It takes care of both high and low beams too.

            The Tyco relays are nice, but I'm sure the next question is "how do I hook them up", followed by "should I buy this expensive wiring kit?". A goggle search will find a bunch of ways to wire them and I think the wiring kits, as nice as they may be, are expensive provided you can do the work yourself. But... you really can't beat the simplicity of the relay you have. Again, that's my opinion.

            FWIW, I buy these: https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B000P61E36/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

            and then wire them using a socket like these: https://smile.amazon.com/Bosch-TYCO...=1515340714&sr=1-1&keywords=tyco+relay+socket although I can usually find the sockets cheaper on eBay.

            I always post this for someone that is working with a wiring harness. A piece of plywood and some finishing nails makes things easy... and it's the way they build wiring harnesses in many industries. Lay it all out and replace one wire at a time and then wrap it with non-adhesive tape.

            7QoWqcb.jpg
             
            • Like Like x 2
            1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
              By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.