Whats a Barracuda worth?

-

Mopar Boy

Reaction score
Hey all. I am new to this here neck of the woods. Not to Mopars, but to A bodies!

Looking at purchasing a 1966 Formula S Barracuda. It is for sale by a guy that purchased it new, but it has sat for the last 15 years as it needed some things. Will give the best description I can.

Car is clean. Would say about a condition 1.5-2. It is wearing an older repaint that was done in the 70’s but still looks great. Original 273 is long gone. In its place is a 340. Motor was rebuilt about 15 years ago. After some issues with the motor and having moved away from the builder, he parked it. Has been run several time over the years but has not really moved under its own power. Carb needs to be rebuilt and motor still needs to be rectified. He is not sure if it has hardened valve seats or not, and the compression is down at 8.5:1.

Car otherwise is pretty clean. Mileage is in the 50K’s I believe. It is a 4 speed and is OK although not sure about clutch. I imagine either way it will need a full tune up and going through having sat for so long.

It does come with an assortment of spare parts.

The question is whats a good price? I am trying to do my research as I do not know what is a fair price and I do not want to lowball him either. Thats just not right.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!