Wheel spin issues

-

1967formulaS

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I've got a 67 formula S fastback
It's got a mild 440, hemi 18 spline 4 speed, strange dana s60 with 4.3 gears, 28 10.5 r15 tyres on rear (bf Goodrich), I have the front raised up just short of the droop stops.
I'm just getting ready to set this thing up and wanted to hear from guys that are either racing or have raced with similar setups.
I still have the original formula s torsion bars and rear leaf springs still in the car. ( it is an original 383/4 speed car)

Even with 1/4 throttle, she is spinning off the line.

I have a set of MH racemasters semi slicks on the way as I want to still be able to drive on the street.

Would SS springs, 6 cylinder torsion bars and an adjustable pinion snubber get me sorted or should I go down the ladder bar or slapper bar route?

I don't want to be doing massive wheel stands. I just want out of the hole nice and flat and quick so I can destroy some rice burners. :)

90/10 shocks on the front - adjustable or not, your choice. The "smaller" torsion bars are a point of debate - but they will aid in launch because they are a lighter rate and will allow the front to rise a tad quicker. Hell yea on the adjustable snubber, hell no on the slapper bars. SS springs wouldn't hurt for sure - they are popular for a reason. There is a thing with the stock leaf springs - I think it is loosening the front half by removing the spring clamps.. do some research, there is a great read online about this - I really should have bookmarked it because this comes up all the time. Google it - eventually you'll find it - or just wait it out on here, I assure you someone will chime in and set you up with the www. or a recent thread link. Very nice car BTW, like the look a lot.