Will a gas tank from a 63 Dart fit in a 60-62 Lancer/Valiant?

-

55crownvic

Reaction score
The tanks are similar in shape but the 63 tank is larger, has anyone attempted to install a later tank into an earlier Valiant/Lancer? Looks to me like it might fit, the only issue I see is the later tank is 3 inches further forward and may interfere with the rear end housing. Thoughts?

yes-- it can be made to work-- i think the filler neck seal is different, Lawrence

I looked at that as a possibilty. Problem with the lancer is the small size (12 gallon) verses the larger A body tank

I have no personal experience-- i had talked with a toad lover who did this mod-- saying he used the 63 tank style in his 62 car-- & it was not too much work--wished i had a junk 63 tank so you could mock it up.(better yet remember who told me that)Lawrence

I ordered a new tank for my 63 dart. sitting side by side with 65 cuda tank,, I couldn't see a difference. the tank went in the 63 o k. classic industries show a different part # for the 63 and another # for the 64-66. I ordered my tank off ebay for quite a few dollars less for same tank.
I did pull the trigger on a rough 62 lancer yesterday, SOoooo 55crownvic, I hope you and I can find enough toad guys on here to help with t he many problems we will encounter!!!!
I will have to replace rear frame rails on mine. I stopped at buddy's mopar boneyard on t rip back home and looked at 65 cuda sitting on its side trying to see if rails are the same. best I can tell they are. I did notice they are 1 inch closer together on the toad. I do know the wheel base of the toad is like what? 105 or 106, the early cuda is 110 an dart 111????? I always though difference in wheelbase of ply vs dodge is madeup ate rear seat area???? or maybe that area directly behind rear seat.
anyway, I will new new tank for sure . funny how they deteriorate after 52 years.????