Wiring

-

jrg7198

Reaction score
Hey so I’m new to classic cars but not new to cars and I have no idea how to wire up a classic engine so I have a 318 LA small block and I got it with the distributor off and alternator off and I have no idea how to wire any of it I don’t know where what goes where so if someone could please help me out I would very much appreciate it I would love to get this engine running already also I need to know what the engine control module looks like cause I may be missing that or it may be bad I’m not sure someone please help

What car do you have.
It’s a 74 dart but it has an after market wiring harness that’s wired up for the most part in terms of being turn key ready but the distributor ignition coil and alternator are not wired up and I don’t know how to wire them and I’ve searched for weeks trying to find a video or a diagram but there is not a single one that I could find they all are just for how to time and install the distributor but not how to wire it and I have no idea if I even have an engine control module in the car as I don’t know what It looks like it’s like all the videos I’ve seen just assume that the people watching know what everything is and knows where the tires go but I do not know

Maybe this will help

Electronic ignition dual ballast.jpg

10 years ago when I got my last duster I was in this position and found an image of the wiring diagram online and went to the local office Depot and had them look it up on the computer and make a copy and a blown up copy and a colored copy and I think I was out of there for under 3 bucks....

Maybe yes, maybe no. OP stated he has no idea "how to wire".
Well an OEM schematic is at least a start. LOTS of harness' in a car, hopefully they all aren't aftermarket.
that doesn't help with an aftermarket harness in the car.

How's harness is in the car. Find out. Look at the fusebox for hints or writing on the wires.