Would you trust this?

-

magnumdust

Reaction score
The remote hosting photo failed for me but it looks like he cut the t-bar cross member completely, welded in some really thin subframe connectors, and welded a crossmember to those?

If that's the case, I hope he's not driving on a road within 1000 miles of me or anyone I care about. Those T-bar crossmember ends are just cantilevered out there, getting twisted on, and metal fatigue is a b!tch.

And I wonder how long his started will hold up with no support on the nose.

I'm no engineer but I think the T-bar sockets need to exert force to somewhere. The floor pan sheetmetal alone doesn't seem strong enough in my opinion.
Maybe he will here strange sounds coming from there and fab up some additional support before major damage occurs.

The pictures don't show me enough. There has been lots of discussion about how to get OD transmissions to fit and what to do with the center part of the crossmember. I would certainly weld what's left of the memebr to the floor for added strength, but it's probably fine.

Tying in the 2x3" .125" wall frame connectors right next to the torsion bar sockets goes a long way to strengthen the crossmember. Welding in that tubular transmission mount should do a pretty good job of tying everything together, although I still think I'd be inclined to connect the ends of the crossmember to each other and the floor over the transmission with something, even if it was just flat plate in an "A" type configuration (think I saw that on an a518 swap thread). It's hard to tell from those pictures, but it does look like he boxed the ends of the crossmember.