273 Valve Adjustment Questions

-

fadingfastsd

Reaction score
Well I'm checking the valves on the 273 in my 64 Cuda,
as it's developed a knocking noise from the #1 cylinder.

I've never done a valve adjustment before on a car engine (plenty on 4 stroke dirtbikes though) so I have a couple (maybe stupid!?) questions.

Here's a picture of the engine w/ the valve cover off:

CIMG2661.JPG

My first question is which is the intake and which is the exhaust valve for each cylinder?

Also, what are the adjustment specs for intake and exhaust on a 273?

I found this article at EarlyCuda.org:
http://www.earlycuda.org/tech/valves.htm

Saying to adjust them with the engine running? Is that true?

Well I'm headed off to napa to get some new valve cover gaskets and a new feeler gauge.
Any help on this will be much appreciated!

Evan

You can adjust them running, but it is messy. The exhaust valves are the ones directly in line with the exhaust ports.

go to mopar max .com the just released an article on adjusting valves . very good online rag all about mopars some one on here told me about it, best thing, its free

The lash specs. for your 273 are .013 intake & .021 exhaust adjusted on hot engine. Just make sure you adjust them after letting engine reach normal operating temp. Can adjust cold & use compensating factor also.Here is a crane cams instructional that should walk you through it. Just follow directions for mechanical cam. http://www.cranecams.com/?show=faq&id=4

Oldschoolcuda

You can adjust them running, but it is messy. The exhaust valves are the ones directly in line with the exhaust ports.

And how do you do this when the bolt you adjust is moving up and down? I Just took the cover off to do this and i dont see how than can be adjusted with it running. I have a 318 with 273 adjustable heads