318 build questions......

-

70-duster

Reaction score
I have a 74 318 out of a dart. It has 36,000 original miles on it. I am taking my 318 out of my 70 duster and replacing it with this 74. However, while it is out of the car, I would like to put a hotter cam, 4 barrel intake and carb on it. I actually have a 650 Barry Grant Demon that I would like to use. My question is, what cam and intake should I go with? The engine is completely stock otherwise and this car will be driven by my girlfriend to loacl shows and cruises. Any help would be a ppreciated. I'm a bodyman not a mechanic.

A few years ago we did the same for my neighbor's girlfriend.
The build was a basic ring ,bearing, valve job on the 318 heads.
We went with the Edelbrock package consisting of 600 Carb,Performer Intake,the 420/420 lift cam kit and their matching valvesprings.
All this went into a Volare' Station Wagon. Other Items were Summit Headers, Full 2 1/2 exhaust with Summit Turbo Mufflers. and 3.73 rear gears.We spent under $1000 bucks for the new parts and other items to do the job.In full street trim leaving it in drive and Barb driving for the first time ever on a dragstrip she clicked off low 15.40's out of the box.( altitude above 6000 feet that day )
Not too bad for a smogger 318 in a Wagon.He later changed the carb to a 625 Demon and got it into the high 14's. Fun car that would do smokey burn outs when you nailed it.:burnout:

I would like to put a hotter cam, 4 barrel intake and carb on it. I actually have a 650 Barry Grant Demon that I would like to use. My question is, what cam and intake should I go with? The engine is completely stock otherwise and this car will be driven by my girlfriend to local shows and cruises.

First, before I recommend a cam, tell me (us) the following, if you can;

What is the gear ratio?
Tire size
Are you just looking for a "Sound" with the car?