318 stroker

-

matts69Dart

Reaction score
Hey, I am a long time lurker on here, love the valuable info, and have finally come around to needing a questions answered. I asked this over on Moparts, but since I am not in the "clique", getting an answer is next to impossible. So here goes:
I am throwing around the idea of putting together a stroked 318/390. Before you say 360, I already have a 72 318 and figure I can save money by starting with it. Here is my plan:
40 over 318
eagle 4 inch cast crank
eagle SIR rods
Diamond 10.3 to 1 pistons
Edelbrock heads
Lunati Voodoo 268 cam
Dual plane intake
750 holley vac secondary

Is this a streetable combination? Will it hold together fine? I don't plan on turning it more than 6000 rpms. I have always run big blocks, so I am new to the small block world. Can anyone give me the pros and cons of this setup? Thanks in advance, Matt

Pro's and Con's huh? Whew! Alot can be writin on that topic and strokers. People will scream "Rod ratio" and thrust surface wear. But I really don't think your into the sci. of it are you?

My biggest con on strokers is price.

My biggest pro to strokers is bigger the better, more the merrier.

Con on the build is the Edel. heads are just about enuff to feed a 360 nicely. The 390 with the smallish cam could probably do well with some prep work on the heads and possible bowl porting if the wallet has it.

I think this combo is super streetable with tons of torque. Though you'll make peak power before 6000 for sure.

Thanks Rumblefish. This is the kind of info I have been looking for. The cost is not too much of a problem as I gave my lil bro my 11 sec big block for his 64 Savoy project and he is funding my stroker. I am trying not to take advantage of him

I would run the next size larger cam. The 268 will not be enough IMO for that combo. Otherwise, looks ok to me.

Id be interested in hearing what other slugs might be available for Matts combo?