408 breaking up

-

Cudapete

Reaction score
I have a blueprint engines 408 stroker in my 68 dart. Its has 10.1 comp, edelbrock aluminum heads, comp roller rockers, a comp hyd cam and a air gap intake, The trans is a coan and has a coan 3500 converter and 3.55 gears with a summit brand electronic box with rev limiter and a pro comp distributor. EVERYTHING is new on the car Except the carb (was all rebuilt and tuned but bought from a friend used)and it has about 1000 break in miles on it. Just recently I took it to the track and pulled a 12.66 @ 106, which is respectable BUT it breaks up and pops through the exhaust at 5800, I fixed a couple of vacuum leaks and replaced the base of my holley cause I found the shaft was worn and whistling Its much better but still has the issue. I was thinking the ign box or maybe the valves arent set right?? Anyone have any ideas before I go tearing this thing apart. Thanks Pete

Pete,

I have no experience with the Pro-comp distributors, but I have found a distributor phasing problem with my Mopar Performance unit. Check your cap and rotor and see if the arcing is happening way to one side of the cap terminals.

My next guess would be valve springs. Are you using Comp's springs or the the Eddie springs? What are the specs on your cam?

Here's something else to throw in the mix after you've checked the other suggestions individually: you didn't say what type or cfm carb is on your engine.
Since it's a high-speed problem, and sounds like a lean condition, maybe you don't have enough carb. Years ago I ran into the same type of problem on a stout 340. The terminology of the day was "shooting ducks" as it was a rapid popping through the exhaust at high rpm's. The engine ended up needing a 850 double-pumper to keep it well fed and happy.

It sounds lean though the cfm rating is not the problem but is a easy fix since with bigger carburetors comes the more radical metering blocks and such.