46RE Shifting Issues

-

ChargedDart75

Reaction score
Hello all. I have a 2002 Dodge Dakota 4x4 with a 5.9 and a 46re. I recently started having an issue with the truck to where it has erratic shifting. On the way home the other day, when I let off the accelerator pedal it would downshift to 3rd. When I came to a stop, it didn't want to shift out of first. Cold it shifted fine, and it doesn't slip. Today I drove it to see if it would do it again, and now it won't shift out of first unless it's at WOT, then it will go from 1st straight to 3rd. I pulled out the old Mac Scout and went for a drive. The "actual pressure" is stuck at 29, and the temp was stuck a -8*. I will attach the picture. To me, it seems like the governor pressure sensor and transducer (BWD brand less than 4 years old) has crapped the bed. Is there something that I'm missing? I'm no transmission expert, just want to fix this damn thing. Thank you all for your help.
20211015_184228.jpg

Those pressure sensors do go all the time. I seems to remember the output speed sensors would go as well. The speed sensor would set a code.

Sounds like the governor pressure solenoid they are relatively easy to replace. Im not sure about the symptoms your having but I know a bad ecm can cause them to not shift. They are electrically shifted

Those pressure sensors do go all the time. I seems to remember the output speed sensors would go as well. The speed sensor would set a code.
The output shaft speed sensor was changed this week. It looked to be the original, and I kept it just in case. It has to be electrical since it doesn't slip though.

Sounds like the governor pressure solenoid they are relatively easy to replace. Im not sure about the symptoms your having but I know a bad ecm can cause them to not shift. They are electrically shifted