727 for pulling and low end torque

-

The Viking

Reaction score
I have a 75 powerwagon, worn out 318 (still runs great after 300k miles) and the 727 behind it, It is as high a milage as the motor and still does ok.

What i want to do is rebuild the tranny. not looking to put 9k rpm in front of it, max would be about 4000 from the motor.

Would just a basic rebuild be the way to go, no special valving, no smaller Torque convertor, etc???????? I would prefer harder shifts and at a slightly higher rpm shift point than stock.

I would like to rebuild this thing on my own. I have done alot of reading and am involved in industrial maintenance so mechanical elements are not an issue for me.

What do you folks reccomend I do? I am a cheap basterd and dont want to spend a bunch of cash!!! I am a NOOB when it comes to this stuff really!!!! i have done some band adjustments, and cleaning out of a "filthy" valve body......etc........ but a rebuild is nothing i have ever tackeled.

Thoughts? ideas?

Just tryin to get a feel for this before I do it........

Guess no one knows anything about tranny's...........................???????

LOL!!! i know many are busy this time of year!!!!!!!

Will wait patiently for a reply!