73 Duster 318

-

ChaoticBeatz

Super Beginner
Reaction score
I'm new here, obviously. I've a 73 Duster 318 that I'm goin to hook up slightly. I just want about 370hp out of the 318. I'm changing the entire interior and currently workin on the suspension. Keepin it mainly stock.

Budget? Main usage? Track or street etc. What style of car you wanna build?Pro street,pro tour,weekend track warrior,trailer queen?

Not enough info bud...:-D

You're going to have to hook it up to something, to get that kind of power out of a 318! Seriously, though. I dig the '73 Duster. I have one, and incidently it is in California right now. Post up a pic.

Your gonna need new pistons for some squeeezzzzee.

Welcome aboard.

My budget for the engine is $1600 for parts. I'll be doin the work myself. I'm not a beginner, however I'm not highly experienced. Its goin to be my daily driver and maybe takin it to the track every now and then. The engine is sitting stock. I have a Weian manifold and Holley 1850 carb that I'll install in a week or so. I threw a glass pack on there because I needed some extra noise. I'm still unsure of the exhaust I want.

I need tires too. Anybody have a Duster with 18's? or Whats the biggest tire I can throw on the back without modification?

I've owned Toyotas before this and still do. This way different from my MR-2 and SC300.

Just my .02. Not really worth it with a 318. A 360 would be better suited for the hp you're trying to get to.

360 will give more bottom end and mid range torque and will make 370 easier.

318 can make 400 hp no problem with some mods. KB167 pistons are about the cheapest and will yeild at least 9:1,more like 10:1 depending on cc of combustion chamber etc.

Cam should be in the .480 lift range but try to stay under 230 duration for the street.

You dont have to change pistons to get 9.5:1,just the heads.