AAR Hood - 72 Duster

-

Old Country

Reaction score
Hello all - I'm new to this, so I take a shot at adding my opinion on my new AAR fiberglass hood. I'm rebuilding or finishing the build of a sweet 72 Duster 'H' code 4 spd rig. Has a new 408 Stroker, Eddy Heads, Cam-Motion solid cam... with aaaall sorts of other goodies including a six-pack with the old Direct Connection (Ford style) mechanical carbs (not vacuum secondaries). "I KNOW" a 4 bbl with an airgap would probably be a better setup, but the six-pack is, well a Six-Pack, got have it, thus why the new hood with the appropriate scoop.

This site tells no lies apparently, as AAR was the most recommended manutacturer, which is why I went that way and I'm sure glad I did (Thanks!). I purchased the six-pack scoop style 'bolt-on' hood, and it's really well built, nicely finished...pretty impressive. Total cost to my door was $625, which included $45 charge for the shipping box. A buddy is a trucker so shipping was...FREE !!...:cheers:....but it trashed the box. The box spent 10 days strapped to a low-boy open trailer un-covered... in the rain, snow, road splash, oily grime...etc.. clear from Florida to Vancouver Washington.... looong ways. The box was toast, soaked, covered with wet, sandy gravel road grime and was on the verge of falling apart, but "my precious hood was just fine". Inside I found my brand new and expensive hood was dripping wet, filthy, plus sand had gotten in there with it, apparently blasted thru the box hand-holds. This was hugely wrong and NO I was not happy, but what can a guy say to free shipping...DOH! Thanks to the way AAR packages their hoods by bracing all four corners (large bags with some of that expanding foam stuff) the hood could not move and those fragile & critical corners were just fine. With the exception of one small scratch on the scoop from a piece of gravel, the hood was untouched.