Aftermarket EFI on a Magnum- your experience??

Magnum Engine Swaps

  1. MRGTX

    MRGTX Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    738
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Local Time:
    11:49 PM
    Which system did you use? How did it work out?
    Would you do it again?

    I was pretty psyched about the Edelbrock Pro Flow 4 but they're not available for our Magnums (LA small blocks only).
     
  2. 93ragtop

    93ragtop Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Location:
    Va
    Local Time:
    12:49 AM
    no experience with it, but holley terminator now has a universal system out. I wonder if it will work on the magnum.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
    • goldduster318

      goldduster318 Overzealous Car Modifier

      Messages:
      1,707
      Likes Received:
      270
      Joined:
      Aug 25, 2007
      Location:
      Lake Orion, MI
      Local Time:
      12:49 AM
      You can run it with megasquirt, including any sensors and throttle bodies you want. I did an LA engine but the ideas work the same. Been running it on my engine for 4 years and it's done well. You just have to source your parts. You'll have to buy a wideband O2 kit (I have an AEM) but other than the wiring it's not a big deal.
       
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • Stephen Hotz

        Stephen Hotz Youtube channel Stephen Hotz FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        3,172
        Likes Received:
        3324
        Joined:
        Dec 30, 2017
        Location:
        New Braunfels, Tx
        Local Time:
        11:49 PM
        Drill the heads for LA bolt pattern and bolt the pro flow4 on.
         
        • Agree Agree x 2
        • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
        • MRGTX

          MRGTX Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,904
          Likes Received:
          738
          Joined:
          Sep 24, 2007
          Location:
          CT, USA
          Local Time:
          11:49 PM
          I believe that plenty of the systems will work. Just fine.

          FiTech, Holley Sniper etc. use a throttlebody with a standard four barrel (or two barrel) carb bolt pattern. The sensor inputs are all compatible of course. It's just the Edelbrock Pro Flow 4 that comes with it's own manifold (with fuel rails, I believe) which seems to get universally good reviews) that is not directly compatible with the Magnum heads.

          Is the Edelbrock system better-enough to justify the extra expense?
           
        • MRGTX

          MRGTX Well-Known Member

          Messages:
          1,904
          Likes Received:
          738
          Joined:
          Sep 24, 2007
          Location:
          CT, USA
          Local Time:
          11:49 PM
          What is the difference with the Terminator system? Does it not come with its own ECU like the Sniper and other systems? I'll have to look that one up.

          What's "it"? The Terminator? The stock Magnum FI?
           
        • Stephen Hotz

          Stephen Hotz Youtube channel Stephen Hotz FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          3,172
          Likes Received:
          3324
          Joined:
          Dec 30, 2017
          Location:
          New Braunfels, Tx
          Local Time:
          11:49 PM
          What is your planned use? If ypur using it for Daily driver and do a lot of driving go with the port injection with sequential. That would look like the Pro-flo4 or stock with a megasquirt. Would be for that little extra mpg.
          I have heard good things about the holley sniper kits as well. If you go that route hit up @Johnny Mac as he helps the guys out.
           
          • Thanks! Thanks! x 3
          • Johnny Mac

            Johnny Mac www.blueprintengines.com FABO Vendor

            Messages:
            3,752
            Likes Received:
            2901
            Joined:
            Jul 10, 2010
            Location:
            OHIO
            Local Time:
            12:49 AM
            Thanks for the shout out! I sell a bunch of snipers and we have good luck with them. I can gladly set you up with a compatible distributor, coil, sniper, fuel pump, if you go that route.
             
            • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
            • goldduster318

              goldduster318 Overzealous Car Modifier

              Messages:
              1,707
              Likes Received:
              270
              Joined:
              Aug 25, 2007
              Location:
              Lake Orion, MI
              Local Time:
              12:49 AM
              You just toss the stock magnum computer and run the engine with all it's original parts if you would like on the Megasquirt. It's real easy to change a sensor, injectors, etc later if you upgrade. A couple of menus and you're done. You will have to add a pull-up resistor to get the cam sensor in the distributor body to work but that's not a big deal. My LA 340 has all GM sensors, a holley throttle body, the stock magnum distributor for a cam sensor, and a 36-1 wheel on the crank. I have sequential multiport injection with coil near plug coils from an LS based truck engine. Car started and idled the first time I ever cranked it and it has autotune. I have an MS3 Pro.
               
              • Like Like x 2
              • Thanks! Thanks! x 2
              • goldduster318

                goldduster318 Overzealous Car Modifier

                Messages:
                1,707
                Likes Received:
                270
                Joined:
                Aug 25, 2007
                Location:
                Lake Orion, MI
                Local Time:
                12:49 AM
                Photo on my engine which is a 340:
                xiwbnGxGe5_aoKbWbz7dUBqD6MD8Lop9pz2NsPrPgxWKhs8m-jM4DIH8d_TrPBUkuQcXk4aVsnvG2awZ1No=w703-h937-no.jpg
                Hjo3L-o1inJIK7IDUPKG1RBbf4dRFk3KPlSta5NRb9XTjRgSS44-EXjiyl6xO2z5zT11ilxvyj3g35Ey_eQ=w703-h937-no.jpg

                I'm not sure if you can even get the M1 intakes anymore, but you could always get the Hughes airgap and do a setup like this. I like this universal Holley 1000 cfm throttle body since the IAT sensor is also part of the throttle body
                 
                • Like Like x 4
                • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
                • mopar65

                  mopar65 Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  2,003
                  Likes Received:
                  1864
                  Joined:
                  Mar 23, 2008
                  Location:
                  Laquey MO
                  Local Time:
                  11:49 PM
                  Great looking set up. I am going to do the same thing to my 5.9 magnum engine, but I am going to also use the GM LS computer. I have to swap teo of the injectors and ignition coils. Ls firing order is diffrent and get it swapped in the computer and retuned.
                   
                • jbc426

                  jbc426 Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  1,931
                  Likes Received:
                  732
                  Joined:
                  May 30, 2007
                  Location:
                  West Coast
                  Local Time:
                  9:49 PM

                  I run a reflashed factory Magnum JTEK computer that has been reflashed on my 408" Magnum. I had a guy on the east coast tune my set-up. It took 3 tunes to dial it in. It was a simple process and it works very well. I did use the Hotwire Auto Hotrod harness, which made the install plug and play.

                  When I get ready to supercharge my next build, I'll switch over to the Holley Terminator ECU. The reviews, flexibility and added functionality it offers are attractive. The self-learning and tuneability are said to be second to none.

                  My buddy runs the Proflo 4 on his RB. It's been everything they said it would be. His car runs great.
                   
                • Dartsun

                  Dartsun Mopar Dude

                  Messages:
                  1,980
                  Likes Received:
                  1733
                  Joined:
                  Feb 12, 2012
                  Location:
                  Springfield Oregon
                  Local Time:
                  9:49 PM
                  That set up looks great.
                   
                • goldduster318

                  goldduster318 Overzealous Car Modifier

                  Messages:
                  1,707
                  Likes Received:
                  270
                  Joined:
                  Aug 25, 2007
                  Location:
                  Lake Orion, MI
                  Local Time:
                  12:49 AM
                  If that's the case you should just be able to swap the pins for cyl #4 and cyl #7 in the harness.

                  I would think what you need to mimic the LS cam and crank sensor and tuning it isn't going to be much cheaper than going with a stand-alone. I saw the MS3 Gold Box for $850.

                  Glad you guys like the setup I put together.
                   
                • Dusterfreak

                  Dusterfreak Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  180
                  Likes Received:
                  77
                  Joined:
                  Aug 29, 2010
                  Location:
                  Finland
                  Local Time:
                  6:49 AM
                  Pro Flo 4 on a 5.2 magnum with EQ heads. IMG_20190908_202220.jpg
                   
                  • Like Like x 3
                  • JoesEdge

                    JoesEdge Well-Known Member

                    Messages:
                    1,076
                    Likes Received:
                    253
                    Joined:
                    Jun 6, 2013
                    Location:
                    Downey, CA
                    Local Time:
                    9:49 PM
                    Have a video of that running?? How do you like it? How does it run? How are cold starts and warm ups? This is what I want to do since I have EQ heads with the LA pattern.
                     
                  • Dusterfreak

                    Dusterfreak Well-Known Member

                    Messages:
                    180
                    Likes Received:
                    77
                    Joined:
                    Aug 29, 2010
                    Location:
                    Finland
                    Local Time:
                    6:49 AM
                    I just got it warmed up the first time last tuesday, fresh engine and all. Follow my "how big can a 5.2 get" thread for further information.
                     
                    Last edited: Feb 2, 2020
                    • Like Like x 2
                    • mopar65

                      mopar65 Well-Known Member

                      Messages:
                      2,003
                      Likes Received:
                      1864
                      Joined:
                      Mar 23, 2008
                      Location:
                      Laquey MO
                      Local Time:
                      11:49 PM
                      Well so far with the LS computer/ Harness I am only into it for $150. My friend said he would tune it fir me pretty cheap. The crank and cam sensor I am going to use it $320 for them both. The crank sensor is a GM sensor and the tone wheel is made to be used with the factory mopar crank pully. The cam sensor is a jeep 4.0 and a adapter to mount it wear the factory Dist goes. But I do like the megasquirt set up a lot.
                       
                      • Like Like x 2
                      • Overlook68

                        Overlook68 Well-Known Member

                        Messages:
                        56
                        Likes Received:
                        17
                        Joined:
                        Mar 4, 2020
                        Location:
                        NorthGeorgia
                        Local Time:
                        12:49 AM
                        What guy did you use? Hemifever in NC or PIE in NC?
                         
                      1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                        By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.