Am i crazy or am i on to something here?

-

searcher1990

Reaction score
I have a 66 barracuda that I am restoring. My wife is not real healthy (diabetes) and funds are getting hard to come by for the project. I am down to rebuilding 4 speed and motor. I am a carpenter and am working on some side jobs for the tranny rebuild. I have a 68 340 I bought 2 years ago I was going to build and put into it but I don't think I will be able to afford it now. Here's where I need help. I think I can sell 340 and buy a 318 or 360 in possible good running condition with the money from 340 sell? Or trade someone their good running small block for the 340. 340 (complete) was running when pulled but was real tired (what I was told from guy I bought it from) I was going to build a real killer but things in life change. I would be happy to just get car running now. Opinions on best path? I am an adult, be free to be brutally honest if need be. If I am crazy please tell me as I don't want to sell 340 then not be able to buy something to replace it with. Thanks for taking the time to read long blog.

Yes, you're crazy to sell the 340 but then......sometimes yougattadowhutyougattado. If you lived closer I could sell you a complete all new short block 318 I have sitting in my garage for $450!! Have no plans to use it.
Treblig

You could maybe buy a low mile magnum and keep the 340 for another day. I wish I would of gone that route. I recently saw a 107k 360 magnum for $700 with AC from a scrap yard.

I would beware of "good" 318s or 360s that you trade for your 340. Sometimes the devil you know is better than the devil you dont know...

Did You ever hear this "tired" 340 run??? Yes, there is a market for that era 340 for sure, and that barracuda would still be a lot of fun w/a stick & a warmed-up 'teener!!
Was that 340 a stocker? And was it out of a 4spd car? If so, You might get a nice chunk of ching for the cam alone. Keep in mind whatever mill You end up with has to