Anybody ever convert solid lifters to hydraulic?

-
I converted a 67 273 to hydraulic. New cam, new lifters, new pushrods (custom length). Next go-round I'm going back to solid, though.

Looks interesting (except for the price). The 4 deg advance should give better mileage and low-end torque. I installed a hydraulic cam w/ similar lift in my 65 273 and used Rhoads lifters for better low-end. I have thought about similar for my 64 225, though it is harder to find performance hydraulic cams (those slant cars were ~1978+) and I don't know if any Rhoads lifters would fit. I am not a fan of adjusting valves.

That's cool, I really haven't seen much conversation on the subject. I like the idea of eliminating the periodic valve adjustments. Any particular reason you're going back to solid lifters, mvh?

Interesting points, Bill. I have plenty of research to do as I'm just getting started on my build plans. I like the gains this sort of upgrade brings.

That's because the slant was designed as a solid lifter engine. When the factory changed them to hydraulic lifter engines, they didn't run so well.

You might want to check in over at slantsix.org. I think,, and may be completely wrong but something like cam bearings need to be changed or some machining needed to feed oil to the lifters. I remember reading something,, but again I may be wrong.

You might want to check in over at slantsix.org. I think,, and may be completely wrong but something like cam bearings need to be changed or some machining needed to feed oil to the lifters. I remember reading something,, but again I may be wrong.

No, but you do need to use the right pushrods with holes in them.

And I THINK you could use AMC lifters if you wanted to try a high-leakage type lifter. They are designed to oil from the side and pump up through the center, but I don't know if they would work to oil from the top.

I investigated this idea too but gave up on it because of too little benefit for the trouble.