BB ingnition timing

-

360duster

Reaction score
Hi Guys, i have no experience with the mopar big blocks, just built SB´s up til now.....have got a question.

My buddy has got a coronet station wagon with 440cui engine, Engine built by a shop here. They left him alone with some problems (heavy pinging under load), i´d like to help him out as far as possible.

So i think these engine is built with too much compression. It´s a pretty stock build, cam seems mild to me, stock cast iron heads etc...i think they put wrong pistons in it and pushed the CR to high - he´s got no clue what´s inside. He has to run race gas to keep i from pinging - no fun at all if you have a big engine and cannot use it...

So i´d like to check the timing first, maybe the dizzy is advancing too much or too early. I´m positive that we can get a better situation with a little tweaking, so what do you think about some timing numbers to start with? What numbers do these engines like?

thanks for your help!

Michael

start at 32 and see if that works out if it does go up one or two degrees until the pinging starts again then go back to where it didn't.
if you can't do that start out at 6 and do the same thing.

Can you get cylinder pressure readings from it? What ignition is it? Has he set up the timing curve or carburetor yet?

ok, thanks for this info. I´ll try to get a baseline, will check the numbers initial / fully advanced and when it´s fully in.

Moper: it´s the stock mopar electronic ignition with a orange box. To me it seems that the engine builder did not take the time to take care about the timing events / dizzy setup.....as said before i will check the actual numbers to go from there.

I did no cylinder pressure tests up til now - is there a "safe" number? have to get a gauge for that, then we´ll do this test, too.

the Carb is a EDE 1407 / 750 cfm. I´ll check if it´s leaning out, maybe it´s better with 8"HG step up springs....we´ll see, we have a date this weekend.