best carberator for the stock slant 6

-

theshootist

Reaction score
Hey guys! Well I've got a 1970 swinger with the slant 6 about to be rebuilt but am not sure what carberator would give me the best performance. I was thinking about souping up the engine but since it's my first attempt I think I'll just take it easy on my brain. Any Ideas would be helpful:salut:

Nothing wrong with a stock /6. Spend the money on good machine work and pistons and stuff.

For stock heads and exhaust, the best bang for buck is probably changing to the Super Six 2-barrel intake (ca 80's Aspen, Volare) w/ the Carter 2 barrel BBD carb. Many posts on that. Maybe $150 for parts.

You might do a bit better w/ a small 4-barrel carb, but intakes for that are $200+ and only helps with a custom head job to bigger valves, bigger exhaust, and maybe bigger cam. Maybe $700.

By far the best performance is to design in a turbocharger. That is high-skill work, but can still be affordable if you are resourceful, can weld, and adapt junkyard parts. Search posts on that.

A super six is more expensive than that. At least $200 for an intake, air cleaner, and kickdown linkage + brackets. Then you'll need a decent carb. You can either get an unknown or reman carb or you can do the right thing and find a NOS carb for $200. Then you've got to get the good gaskets and either do the work yourself or have a machine shop resurface the manifolds. You'll also need a new accelerator cable while you're at it.

To the original poster...why don't you tell us what you want your car to do. Do you want horsepower or do you want gas mileage?

All good post above.
I like the stock 1920 single barrel holley for drivability and milage.
Easy to tune and maintain.

I recently got a 64 Slant Six with the Carter BBS. Long ago I had a Slant Six with the Holley 1920. That Holley drove me nuts. I suspected my problems were something else until I finally got a good 1920 carb (after ~3 others from auto parts stores).