Bore and Stroke a 318?

-

RDupont01

Reaction score
I am new to Mopar and have recently picked up a nice '73 Swinger that is running a 318. I was looking and it seems the fit on the 318 is tight, and with a 318 motor being cheap, I was thinking of picking up another 318, boring, and stroking it. Any tips or warnings or better ideas? Anyone know what I can bore it out to and some performance specs?

sonic check will tell you what you can safely bore it to, rumors are in the ball park of up to 4", stroking depends on your budget. A real cheap stroker is to take a 360 crank, turn the mains down to 318 size and shove it in the block.

If your going to buy another engine to stroke why not start with a 360???...

I am new to Mopar and have recently picked up a nice '73 Swinger that is running a 318. I was looking and it seems the fit on the 318 is tight, and with a 318 motor being cheap, I was thinking of picking up another 318, boring, and stroking it. Any tips or warnings or better ideas? Anyone know what I can bore it out to and some performance specs?

The fit on a 340 or 360 is not going to be any tighter in the engine bay. They are the same size and demetions of the 318.

and with a 318 motor being cheap, I was thinking of picking up another 318, boring, and stroking it. Any tips or warnings or better ideas? Anyone know what I can bore it out to and some performance specs?

Tip and warning...A 318 is the most expensive small block to stroke except the 273. Even though you start off cheaper with the 318, stroking turns out more expensive due to the piston selection being small and pricey.

Turning down the mains on a 360 crank is an expense you might not want ethier. On top of that expense, the selcetion of pistons (Yet again) is nill. You must be creative or pay the piper dearly for slugs.

Performance specs.
I'm not sure what you mean by that.