Brake Master Cylinder Valves

-

Dodge74

Reaction score
I have a brake master cylinder off of a '74 Dodge Dart Sport, diameter 15/16. I would like to use this with my disc brake front conversion. The conversion is off of a '74 Duster. I was told I could use this master cylinder but that I needed to take off a valve. Does anyone know what valve, where it's at, and how I take it off? Or does anyone have a recommendation for a master cylinder I can use?

:violent1:

They are talking about a "residual valve". I have never seen one, but understand it is inside the ports where the tubes exit and that you can pull them out easy with needle-nose pliers. I don't know if they were still used in 1974. The later wheel cylinder kits with the cups on the ends of the springs are supposed to eliminate the need for them. I understand you can buy an external residual valve aftermarket, but why?

I expect you know that you will need a proportioning valve to run rear drums with front disks. You can get an adjustable one for ~$25. If you won't have a power booster, you might want to read up whether a 15/16" MC is OK with disks. You might need a smaller bore. On my 65 Dart, I put a booster and MC from a ~96 Breeze on 74 Dart stand-off brackets. No front disks yet, but I wanted to plan for that someday.

Usually you can remove the brass seat by screwing the proper size sheet metal screw into the hole in the seat, and prying it out with a claw hammer just like a nail.

30j2vwo.jpg

Thanks 67Dart273 for the great picture. I was wrong, it takes more than needle-nose pliers. That brings up a good point. If your 1974 MC looks like the picture, with a larger reservoir aft (for front brakes), it is already for a front disk brake car, so won't have a residual valve on the fronts (as in picture). If for a drum-drum car, the 2 reservoirs will be the same size. That is how us clever FABO guys can see just a photo of an engine bay and say "nice that you have disk brakes".