brass washers for manifold

-

goatboy

Reaction score
I need to know if anyone knows where to get the brass washers for the ends of the manifolds. I had a shop here in town help with some broken stud on my /6 and they didn't put the brass washers on the ends so now they leak a little antifreeze. I can't seem to find anyone with the brass washers. Does anyone know if I can still get them? Maybe even and alternative?

here is a pic, the white residue can't be good. thanks for any help

IMG_0564edit.jpg

The brass washers are ordinary hexagon washers, for use on all studs except the top front and rear, which originally got castellated nuts. You can still get castellated nuts, see for example here

Just wondering, where is your kickdown lever?

I know this is a dumb question but what do you mean kick down lever? I am pretty new to these older cars. I am used to motorcycles and the dart is a little different. thanks

The problem is not your washers. The ones in the pic look fine to me. The end studs thread into the water jackets and those studs need to have thread sealer on them when installed. Pull the studs out, put some sealer on the threads and screw them back in the head. I've had good results with regular silver plumber's pipe dope.

Thanks. I figure I will stop by the shop on my way to work today and ask them to look at it. Only because they did the work and I want to see if they will fix it. If not I will bring it home myself and do it, and they will not see me again. thanks

Kickdown lever or kickdown rod. See this article. It is actually a post from slantsix.org about converting from a one barrel to a two barrel. The linkages for the one barrels are different than the super six linkages. What carburetor does your 71 Dart have?

Here is how the linkages attach to the carb:
twobarrel-linkage.jpg

You must also adjust the kickdown linkage once it is installed:

throttlekickdown-adjustment.jpg