Burnt Wire

-

shittyslant6

Reaction score
So, I just made a new positive battery cable going to the starter. (1970 duster slant 6) When I got in and turned the key, nothing happened. Then this wire (picture) burnt all the way through. Form what I can see, this does nothing and it is a ground to itself. If anyone has any explanation on what this wire does or why it burnt it would be greatly appreciated. (wire was white)
IMG_20210218_143424.jpg
IMG_20210218_143427.jpg

I'd be looking for what else fried. Did you hook your battery up backwards????????

Disclaimer... I’m not an expert, by all means, but I’ve been dealing with mucho electrical problems. What gauge wire did you use for the new battery wire? Is it larger than your battery ground and any other main ground wires? It’s possible that you need to up your ground wire gauge. Hopefully an expert answers as well.

Disclaimer... I’m not an expert, by all means, but I’ve been dealing with mucho electrical problems. What gauge wire did you use for the new battery wire? Is it larger than your battery ground and any other main ground wires? It’s possible that you need to up your ground wire gauge. Hopefully an expert answers as well.
Yes, I got a new wire from a buddy and it is larger than the original and the ground wire. But why would that burn out that wire to nowhere? Oh, the ammeter gauge went to -40 when I turned the key.

Evidence is pointing to a ground short in the column.
If you recall which key position it was in when you pegged the ammeter, then you can narrow it down to two of the four circuits coming out of the key switch.
You're lucky that column grounding wire went first. Saved you from much more serious damage.

Clean up all that electric and get stuff - like the fuse box - properly secured. Having stuff swinging around is putting stress on the wires and connections.

1970 is wired basically like this.
upload_2021-2-18_20-10-6.png

Everything connected to the battery positive is hot.