Cam swap ,i guess im living right

-

The Shocker

Reaction score
Tore my 408 down today for the switch from a hyd to a solid flat tappit cam.When i pulled the roller rocker shaft assemblies i noticed a retainer on the right side had a funny angle to it.Upon a quick glance i noticed it was missing a keeper .I have spun this motor to 6000 many times on the track (150 passes),and i just did it again the other day in my driveway before i tore it down.How it kept from popping the other keeper out is beyond me.The whole thing woulda been done in a micro second if it had droped the valve at 6000 rpms.I cant find the keeper (i fished around the pan sump with a long magnet and still nothing),so does anyone know how i can tell which one it is without pulling the head ? I can replace it easy enough with a spring compressor .Will i have to get a whole set for the one i need.Please excuse my ignorance as im still fairly new to Mopars ,but not engines.These are econo W2 heads BTW.The valve stem tips (including this one ) look text book perfect ,as do the retainers .I guess i floated the spring at one time and caused it to pop out.No telling how long ago.Thanks for your help ...

Attachments

• 004.JPG
    88.6 KB · Views: 473
On a positive note the heads have apparently been gasket matched at one time in their life ,but the intake wasnt.I will be gasket matching it before i reinstall it .Cam bearings ,double roller chain ,and everything else is all in great shape .I have always been a Ford and Chevy guy ,but im note affraid to tear into a Mopar for the first time especially with the help of sites like this ...

Attachments

• 006.JPG
    86 KB · Views: 452
  • 002.JPG
    94 KB · Views: 472
Well, I have to be honest and say pull the oil pan. If you so not find it in the old oil first. Then look at the pick up screen a d the. The inside of the oil pump.

You are one lucky fella! Looks like it may have smaller valve's to, are they 11/32?