Camshaft choice

-

n3w6uy

The Valley Ant
Reaction score
I'm just learning on how to rebuild my engine and have got alot of great advice so far. I've a 1970 LA318, will be putting a dual plane Eddy intake with Eddy 4bbl Performer 500cfm and a Jegs dual exhaust system. My next hurdle is this: how do I choose which camshaft will be the best application?

It will be a daily driver, but around here, there are sharks at the red-n-greens and i do not want bitten.

The cam from the 340HP seems to be a good choice. Being that this will be a daily driver the cam is not too radical but will add enough to make reds & greens fun.

I'm just learning on how to rebuild my engine and have got alot of great advice so far. I've a 1970 LA318, will be putting a dual plane Eddy intake with Eddy 4bbl Performer 500cfm and a Jegs dual exhaust system. My next hurdle is this: how do I choose which camshaft will be the best application?

It will be a daily driver, but around here, there are sharks at the red-n-greens and i do not want bitten.

The way I would choose the right cam is first contact Mancini or Comp Cam and tell them honestly what your complete build is and they will recommend the right cam. Once you've recieved their recommendation float it on this site for yea's or nay's from the guys.

Terry

as noted above the stock 340 cam is a good choice or something close to it that is newer...

you do not want to over cam a 318..

I have the 340 cam in my 318 small 4bbl and duals, runs great. For a driver with stock highway gearing you probably don't want too much more. I can still get over 20 MPG highway and even with small port heads it pulls very hard to 5600.

That 500 cfm is fine for stock cammed and exhaust 318's, you'll want to step up to a 600 cfm carb.
A jump in gear ratio and converter to match the car/cam/gears/intended useage may be a very good idea to do.

How to choose a cam, or, how to ask the cam manufacturer and have enough info to ask the right questions.....