Camshaft + converter for 318 w/302 heads

-

75 Duster 360

Reaction score
I am instling a 1985 model 318 with 302 cylinder heads into my 1972 Duster. The engine has low miles and the heads are in great condition, with new guides installed. I need to know what camshaft I need to run in it. I bracket race it only, so I need a camshaft for maximum rpm that these stock heads will work best with. Will milling the heads help any and will it affect my valve clearance with stock piztons? I have a 318 Streetmaster and a Performer intake to choose from. I am running 3.55 gears and my Duster weighs 2800 lbs. I have a new Mopar purple cam 280 .474". Will it work well with the 302 heads? What about a torque converter for this combo? Are the 302 heads worth porting? Thanks.

Well, if you "bracket race it only", then the next question is "are you looking to go fast?"
  1. yes, the .474/280 cam will work. I've used that cam in a few 318's (street cars)
  2. I would run a quality 9.5 converter, on the loose side (3800 stall)
  3. I would gear it so that you cross the line 200 rpm's before your shift point. That won't be 3.55's. It will be around 4.30's - 4.56's
  4. I would sell both your intakes, and buy a RPM air gap (edelbrock)
  5. Yes, you can port the 302 heads. I'd advise it or they will be the bottle neck of your combo.
What E.T. are you hoping to run? What class?

Well, if you "bracket race it only", then the next question is "are you looking to go fast?"
  1. yes, the .474/280 cam will work. I've used that cam in a few 318's (street cars)
  2. I would run a quality 9.5 converter, on the loose side (3800 stall)
  3. I would gear it so that you cross the line 200 rpm's before your shift point. That won't be 3.55's. It will be around 4.30's - 4.56's
  4. I would sell both your intakes, and buy a RPM air gap (edelbrock)
  5. Yes, you can port the 302 heads. I'd advise it or they will be the bottle neck of your combo.
What E.T. are you hoping to run? What class?