Carbed Magnum parts list?

-

Shainesboostin

Reaction score
Keep reading up on magnum swaps as im about to start my first mopar build. Wanna stay smallblock, and originally just wanted to go LA 360, but alot say go MAGNUM, but I wanna STAY CARBERATED. Is it worth doing if I stay with a carb? Just dont wanna do the EFI thing. I see things about using LA heads, but something needs drilled? Yada yada. I know the info is out there, but would love to chat here back and forth as I am a newb.

First, welcome to FABO. Get ready for a lot of opinions.
First check out magnumswap.com, lots of info on oil pan, belts, manifolds etc.
The deal with magnum is, assuming you dont want OD trans, there are two ways to do it.
First is with magnum heads and a "magnum" carb manifold. Second way is with aftermarket magnum heads that are "LA" intake pattern so you can use your LA RPM air gap, Holley etc...
The magnum pattern intake in more expensive and if you already have LA intake you might consider a magnum LA head. The EQ heads are available in both magnum and LA intake pattern. They offer a substantial HP gain over stock heads.
The magnum has so many benefits over LA, 1.6 ratio pedestal rockers, roller cam, closed chamber heads, hypereutectic pistons w molly rings and of course the fact you can pick up a good runner for under $500 that will literally make 450 hp with EQ heads and a cam. We have lots of info on our site too, FAQ section and some write ups and links that help. We also have all the parts you will need to do swap with either carb or FI. magnummopar. or pm for more info. Evan

Had my heads redrilled for $80. You could pull the underhood wiring through the ignition, distributor, T-quad/Q-jet, intake, ecm, and ballast from an '80s 360 truck. Probably would have to end somewhere just South of $500 if you started with a V8 trans.

This photo is a LA to 5.9 swap in a '79 Magnum.
image.jpeg
My 5.9 Magnum LA swap used;