Cheap HEI distributor questions

-

mod5v

Reaction score
I got one of the E-bay self contained distributors and paired it up with a old Accel can coil I had laying around. The spark just seems to be very weak and yes I have full 12v to the coil. There were no instructions with the distributor so I went on line to find wireing diag and its just connect red wire to 12v+ at coil + and black wire to coil -. This coil worked fine with the MSD 6 I had before so I know the coil is good but I don't know if it is compatable with the HEI. also dose anyone have instructions on how to change Mechanical advance on this thing. I need to reduce the amount of mechanical advance as I need to have about 20deg initial and if I do I end up with about 38 total which is to much.

I have no experience with this particular distributor but I remember back in my wrench turning days factory HEI distributors had an internal coil and you wouldn't use an external coil. Just 12V+ and a neg ground.

You need an e-core type coil.
The distributer has to be fully dis-assembled to change the mechanical advance. The slots are at the very bottom of the housing. I welded up my slots, but there may be bushings or spacers to limit the slots.

I have no experience with this particular distributor but I remember back in my wrench turning days factory HEI distributors had an internal coil and you wouldn't use an external coil. Just 12V+ and a neg ground.

Sorry small cap external coil. full size HEI wont fit in my duster hits firewall and wiper motor.

If it is a real HEI distributor, it does not need an external coil.

PAC-4207-1 High Output Coil for Ready-to-Run Distributors
upload_2016-10-25_15-12-1.png

or ya know... go on ebay and find one for $9 :(

I think you have one of these? As discussed in this post.

Can Anybody Identify This Distributor?..