Cylinder hone or bore oversize?

-

ValiantOne

Reaction score
Working on a 360 magnum for my 68 val. I am hoping to do a hone job and use the original rotating assy. Someday I want to do a 408 stroker, but that is 3-5 years off...yadda, yadda...

I just measured the cylinder wear with a freshly calibrated dial bore gauge. (I am a machinist, jut not automotive) and this is what I got

Cylinder: max/min oversize from 4"
1) .002-.0015
2) .0015-.005
3) .0025-.001
4) .002-.0005
5) .0025-.001
6) .002-.0015
7) .002-.0005
8) .002-.001

So .0025 seems to be the most wear, and .0015 the worst out of round. I haven't looked in the manual to see what the max wear limit is, but what say you all?

Even if I am right up against the max wear I am tempted to hone it and run it because I only put a few thousand miles a year (if that) on the car, and am looking at going stroker in a few years.

Thoughts?

Thanks,

CE

Working on a 360 magnum for my 68 val. I am hoping to do a hone job and use the original rotating assy. Someday I want to do a 408 stroker, but that is 3-5 years off...yadda, yadda...

I just measured the cylinder wear with a freshly calibrated dial bore gauge. (I am a machinist, jut not automotive) and this is what I got

1) .002-.0015
2) .0015-.005
3) .0025-.001
4) .002-.0005
5) .0025-.001
6) .002-.0015
7) .002-.0005
8) .002-.001

So .0025 seems to be the most wear, and .0015 the worst out of round. I haven't looked in the manual to see what the max wear limit is, but what say you all?

Even if I am right up against the max wear I am tempted to hone it and run it because I only put a few thousand miles a year (if that) on the car, and am looking at going stroker in a few years.

Thoughts?

Thanks,

CE
From experience, build it once and build it right. Bore it, stroke it and be done. Saves time and money in the long run