Dart 273 w/two barrel ?'s

-

fireman

Reaction score
Just bought a 65 dart GT with a 273 w/Two barrel carb. It was an elderly mans and he sold it to me yesterday and hadn't been run much or worked on for the last 2-3 years. It actually runs pretty well but seems to idle a bit high and probably needs a little TLC. Since I am new to this, I am looking for suggestions on a tune up. I feel comfortable with simple stuff like changing spark plugs and distributor, etc...What should I do though. Take it in and get a pro to do a deep tune up, take care of it myself, change any parts? Let me know.

Very nice. I started my Mopar madness with a '66 Dart with a 273 2-bbl. I'd suggest for starters, change the fluids and filters, then take inventory of what kind of condition the car is in. Take the car out for a drive and slide a clean piece of cardboard under it to check for leaks. Take the drums off and check the brake linings, maybe even bleed the brakes to get the crud out of the system and refresh the fluid. Take a good look at the exhaust to see that it isn't leaking. While you're under the car, check the front end bushings to see if they are holding up. On the ignition, pull the plugs and read them. Check the points and timing.

With a good understanding of what's right and wrong with the car, you can come up with a plan for prioritizing what you can fix and what you'll have to pay someone else to fix. It's an adventure. Have fun.8)

Congrats Fireman on a great find and welcome to the site! Good advice from 2 Darts, I would add that upgrading to electronic ignition will give you lots of benefits, and it's cheap.

Spray the carb / accelerator linkage with PB Blaster or something similar and make sure the carb return spring is in good shape. My 66 idled fast and here it was the carb was gummed up.

Check for split hoses going into the carb. A vacuum leak will cause it to not want to idle.