Engine and tranny help

-

Hooligan111

Reaction score
I just bought a 1964 Dodge Dart with a Slant 6 engine and 3 speed TorqueFlight transmission. I'm having some problems figuring things out. First, does this car have a 904 or 727 tranny? How can I tell? Will a 340 bolt to my transmission? Or do I need to get a different transmission for the engine? As you can tell I'm new to the car game but my 13 year old son is MOPAR crazy. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Your car would have a 904, end of story. If your car is original, it would have a push button, cable operated shifter, and no modern slip yoke INTO the transmission. Instead it would have what is called a "ball and trunnion" front U joint.

You could put a more modern 904 or 727 either one behind the 340 but the trans MUST be made for a small block V8, and MUST be a "long shaft" version.

Mopar bells in the years we normally find here come in three series............... only for slant six, ........... only for the small block v8 series (273-318-340-360, and can be adapted to operate with 5.2/5.9 Magnums) ................ and the larger B/ RB "big block" transmission

Early ball and trunnion:

http://www.earlycuda.org/images/Tech/Ujoint/trunion1.jpg

You can easily ID a 904 from a 727 by looking at the pan. A 904 is rectangular with one corner nipped off. A 727 has an additional bulge on the passenger side pan rail. There is more to it than that. Lots of details over the years. EG the 65 transmissions (rare) were cable shift but used a slip yoke. 66 and later were mechanical shift linkage and all slip yoke. Up through 68 or 69 or so, only the neutral safety switch (single contact) was on the transmission. Later models used a 3 terminal NSS, with the backup lamp switch in the switch as well