engine builders...advice

-

SoulSurvivor

Reaction score
I am finishing off my rebuild of my 69 340 with the installation of new lifters and stainless 273 type adjustable roller rocker and I have just a few questions. When it comes to the adjustment of the rockers..should I soak the lifters first/pump them up or just lube them up cold and drop them in before I adjust? It is a Comp Cams Hydraulic cam/lifter set up. I kind of know how to do the adjustments(hail Mary's combined with lots of beer and crossed fingers) but if you have a tip or two that you can lend I would really appreciate it. Thank you, Doug

Hey Doug. Though I'm not a builder by trade, I do not beileve Comp cams wants you to pre-pump up the lifters. They need to be adjusted when the engine is warmed up to operating temps I beileve.

For a ruff dial in, this is what I do. One valve at a time, with the lifter on the base circle of the cam (No lift at all, lifter on the opposite side of the egg shape of the lobe) run the adjuster low and observe the pushrod pushing down on the lifter. The pushrod should push on the top of the lifter down approx. .050.

Gap a spare plug this wide for a general eyeballing quick look so you get an idea of how large this gap is. You really don't want to go to far for start up and hang a valve open, even a tiny bit.

Once the engine warms up, you can adjust the rockers adjuster properly with an ideal amount of 2 - 2-1/2 threads showing I beileve the amount is.
(Sorry, it's been awhile)
Then double check the rockers tip to valve contact area for correct contact and movement on the valves tip.

MoPar has a valve lash adjustment chart that is a sticker and can be put on the fire wall if so desired. It helps speed things up by doing 2 valves at a time per manual rotateing of the engine via the crank bolt with a socket and braker bar.