Flex Fuel (51-83%)

-

Jonnylightening

Reaction score
So I'm in the process of converting my 408 to E85. At my local pump they have Flex Fuel (E85) but it's rated at 51-83% Ethanol. Question is if you have your tune set for 85ish % what do you do? For instance when you do the water/E85 test and come up with say 51% what can you do to bring it up? The whole point of the conversion is to get the high octane rating at a cheaper than race gas price. Any help is much appreciated!

Buy some alky and a hydrometer and add your own? We have no such thing here in Idaho. "a few" stations (darn few) have non-alky fuel, and most stations have the whatever it is 10-15% stuff.

I'm a newbie at this so what alcohol would I need to buy?
Straight methanol. Apparently it's not cheap. 99.9% pure from a race gas supplier, not so much. Looks like $60/5gals.
You will need a way to check and confirm your mixture. And the MTX gauge is a great idea.

Last edited:
I'm a newbie at this so what alcohol would I need to buy?
I only know any of this from having a "Variable" fuel car from the early 90s. it was supposed to run on 100% gasoline to 100% M85 as in Methanol or any mix in between (it was part of an experimental fleet of cars in So Cal) it had special injectors, fuel pump and controller.

Ethanol - Grain Alcohol (AKA Everclear 95% alcohol, 5% Water?) (or make your own! MOONSHINE 100% Ethanol)

about 15.5 gallons of Everclear to 2.5 gallons of gas will get you in the range of 75 to 90 % Ethanol (assuming my calculations are correct.)

I think racing alcohol is still Methanol - Wood alcohol (supposedly nasty stuff to humans through casual contact)

I would expect your EFI to adjust the spray time for O2 output?

So if you had spray nozzles that could deliver the 2-3X the volume needed of gas nozzles it should self adjust for the 50 to 80 variation in E85

upload_2022-1-24_20-49-49.png