Fouling Plugs

-

Mupoo

Reaction score
Gidday, I'm having a bit of a problem with the 383 fouling all its plugs. It is currently running a factory electronic ignition with an orange box, I have put new leads on it & coil (just a cheap one but), the carb is a 750 vac Holley with size 70 jets & is running a 4 post ballist resistor.
Being that I'm fairly new to this style ignition, is it normal for the plugs to foul fairly easy? I'm thinking of putting a full MSD setup in it if I can't work it out or if this is normal. I haven't had the dizzy out to make sure it is working properly but the rotor & cap are both in good condition.:banghead:

Your comments please!

Gidday, I'm having a bit of a problem with the 383 fouling all its plugs. It is currently running a factory electronic ignition with an orange box, I have put new leads on it & coil (just a cheap one but), the carb is a 750 vac Holley with size 70 jets & is running a 4 post ballist resistor.
Being that I'm fairly new to this style ignition, is it normal for the plugs to foul fairly easy? I'm thinking of putting a full MSD setup in it if I can't work it out or if this is normal. I haven't had the dizzy out to make sure it is working properly but the rotor & cap are both in good condition.:banghead:

Your comments please!

What are they fouling with?
Oil?
Grey deposits?

Can you post a picture of one?

Cheap gas causes grey deposit buildup.

Initial timing?

fuel pressure?

Camshaft in the engine?

Low initial will get you into all sorts of issues especially at idle.

What are they fouling with?
Oil?
Grey deposits?

Can you post a picture of one?

Cheap gas causes grey deposit buildup.