Good Oil Filter Relocation Kit?

-

65Valiant310

Reaction score
Im looking for the most recommended oil filter relocation kit. Lots are around 40-65, yet I think stainless braided lines would best, rather than the rubber supplied in the aforementioned kits.

Oh, I ask because I have a 90 degree adapter, but heard that unit restricts flow pretty badly

Ummmmm, I don't know about that 90* oil part restricting oil flow since racers have been trashing there MoPars with it on as needed equipment (Due to header restrictions mandating there use) for 40 years and running.

Ya might wanna think twice on that one.

The 90* seems to work fine as long as you have high flow fittings. I installed an Amsoil Bypass kit with an oil cooler on my Dart, but it just proved too much. Oil would drain back from the kit (mounted up on the fender by the alternator) back into the pan. If it sat for more than a day it would drain off the lines, and when it started it would clatter for 5+ seconds until the kit got pressurized again.

In the end I stripped it off and stuck with a stock sized filter, although I run Amsoil high-zinc 10W-40 with their EAO42 oil filter.

When looking keep this in mind. Most hoses supplied with kits are called 1/2". That is the i.d. of them and is sufficient. The problem comes in where most adapter fittings supplied only have a 7/16" i.d. That's a restriction. I installed a Perma-cool relocation kit on my Cuda and noticed right away the oil pressure dropped 5-8 lbs. After looking it over good I determined it was because of the fittings. Since they can't be drilled out to 1/2" i.d. the next step was to use 5/8 hoses and fittings as those fittings have a true 1/2" i.d. My oil pressure is now back where it was with just the filter installed right onto the block. Oh and good rubber hose is just fine. After all stainless braided hose has rubber internals. Stainless just looks better and if it's in an area that may rub something will last much better.