Heads for magnum

-

dusterboi89

Reaction score
I’m new to this so bear with me

I have a 99 magnum that is gonna be stroked to a 408 but can’t seem to find aftermarket heads. Is it possible to use LA aluminum heads if so what needs done thanks

Edelbrock makes a direct bolt on head, and Trick Flow makes a head that bolts on, you just need to use the correct rocker arms and shafts to allow oiling through the push rods. There use to be some good cast iron heads, but they are not longer available.

Last edited:
Edelbrock makes a direct bolt on head, and Trick Flow makes a head the bolts on, you just need to use the correct rocker arms and shafts to allow oiling through the push rods. There use to some good cast iron heads, but they are not longer available.

any chance you Know the part number for heads

That’s the route I’m going though the head will be under utilized. I’m sure I’ll catch a ribbing first it as well as a waste of money. But the port flow vs getting an Edelbrock and then porting it is money in the bank.

That’s the route I’m going though the head will be under utilized. I’m sure I’ll catch a ribbing first it as well as a waste of money. But the port flow vs getting an Edelbrock and then porting it is money in the bank.

I thought I remember seeing somewhere that you could run a LA style head on a magnum you just had to do oiling mods But can’t find it

I thought I remember seeing somewhere that you could run a LA style head on a magnum you just had to do oiling mods But can’t find it

Ddill the back of the heads to accept an split oil feed line from where the oil pressure send is located to intersect where you drill downwards from the rear rocker shaft pedestal. The attaching bolt for the rocker arm shaft is then drilled to allow oil up to the shaft. Drill the bolt high enough to allow a 90* drilled path to inside the rocker shaft.

Oil mod NOT done by me.
7D80A5E5-0CC6-461A-919A-936A2A33CB63.jpeg
22AE35DD-32E8-47B1-B376-4549F9C80AC1.jpeg