Help! I.D. these connectors please...

-

Beatnik

Reaction score
So I'm trying to track down why I have no dash lights, or parking lights and running lights. (Do have headlights/blinkers/emerg. flashers and brake lights)

I'm just getting into/under the dash etc...was going to try and replace the headlight switch (already tried fresh bulbs and fuses) and found these two connectors up above the kick-panel just under the dash on the drivers side. Cant seem to I.D. them...? Anyone got some ideas?

One's yellow plastic w/ 2 prong connection...one's got a 3 prong connection and single....not sure what they are for but they look old and figured I'd replace 'em while I was at it!

Thanks!

Attachments

• Connectors.jpg
    67.8 KB · Views: 239
Those are relays and circuit breakers. They are used for things like seat belt buzzer-horns bla bla bla. They will not have a thing to do with no dash lights. I would look to the dash ground or the "dimmer" on the headlight switch. When you rotate the headlight knob do the dash light flash at all? Does the interior lights come on? Failing that I would think fuse or look to make sure the wiring harness is plugged in.

Thanks guys! Yea, horn no workie either...so could be the relay.

slant6/4speed - When I rotate the dimmer on the headlight switch I get nothing/nada. Tried wiggling/jiggling etc and no changes...dome light doesnt work either (but havent changed bulb yet to rule it out)

Adam - 70 Duster...

Sounds like you have no power to the circuit. Time to break out the service manual and trace wires. Is this a 1974ish A-body? Remember that the interior lights are controlled by the little push switch in the door jams and it grounds the wire to turn on the lights.

Look like you will be checking out pink or black and yellow wires for a while! Have you been working under the dash lately? Feet unplug some wires?