Help with Instrument Voltage Reg. modification

-

66fyssh

Don't Stop Believin'
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Hello all, I did the mod to replace the internal voltage regulator on my 66 barracuda to get my fuel gauge working again and it's giving me fits. I used the 7805, 5 volt out regulator. The first one used gave an out put of just over 8 volts. So, I bought another one to replace the first one and the same thing...I'm getting over 8 volts out. Any idea why?? Here's a picture of my modification, does anyone see anything I'm doing wrong? I appreciate your help!!

Attachments

• Dash Pic.jpg
    38.1 KB · Views: 202
Hi,

I'm new here and haven't had time to write up an introduction but , I saw your posting on the voltage regulator. I'm a retired electronics engineer and have a lot of experience with 7805's. I'm sure it's not wired correctly but all the red wires in your photo make it hard to trace the wiring. PM me with your email address and I'm sure I can help you sort things out.

Also, a 66 might have the old instrument voltage regulator in the fuel gauge that has to be disabled.

There are plenty of write ups about bending little thingys for the "do it yourselfers" on the internet . Most popular comes from a vendor with "engineering" in their title.
The original mechanical limiter must be removed no matter were its located.

Thanks guys. Pete is helping me offline.

I found info here and another site on the modification. I took the fuel gauge apart and bent the arm on the original internal regulator out of the way.

decided to go with the 7805 and capacitor instead of buying the RT-Engineering all in one replacement. They wanted $50 for their's. I got all the parts for under $5.

I just checked it again and I'm getting 9.13 volts out of the 7805 regulator...it's suppose to be putting out 5 volts. It's strange that it happened with two different 7805's.

Pete has a lot of experience with the 7805's so I'm hopeful he'll help figure out where I went wrong!