HFT vs SFT Cam Identification

-

gzig5

Reaction score
Can I determine if a cam is a solid or hydraulic by some feature on the lobes or something else? I have a cam that came in a 65 273 Commando short block but there were no lifters or heads, just the cam, pistons, rods, and crank. It looks like it is in pretty good condition and from measuring the intake lobe it seems to have .313" lobe lift, which would be .470" lift with 1.5 rocker. That's a bit more lift than stock and if I can figure out whether it is SFT or HFT I might use it in my 340 with J-heads, depending on the other specs. I have a gut feeling that it is a SFT because it came from an engine that originally would have had SFT, has the high compression Commando pistons, and the cam is higher lift than stock. But how do I tell? I have a degree wheel, V-blocks or lathe to mount it in, and plenty of dial and test indicators. I've googled but haven't found a method to determine if the lobe is for a SFT or HFT lifter.

The easiest way by far is to find a shop that has a Cam Master machine
and put it on it!
The hard way is to put it in you block with a mag base on your lifter and
a pointer (clothes hanger or similar) and a degree wheel. That will give you
a idea of duration @ 50 and rate of lift on the ramp of the camshaft starting
to open.
Boy I wish there was a easier way = I know because I have 100 plus camshafts
and 1/2 do not have the card and no # on the back or it is obsolete.

Years and years, decades ago; I read that;
Solid lifter cams have two ramps; a clearance ramp and the usual acceleration ramp.
By degreeing the ramps below .050, and analyzing the data as to lift per degree/per degree/ you can find the switch point. or not. If you find it, it's a solid. If you don't, it's not.
IDK if that's true, but that's how I remember it.